MATABARI TEMPLE

History about Matabari

Maharaja Dhanya Manikya founded the Tripura Sundari Temple in the year 1501. It is said that he actually  founded the temple for Lord Bishnu, but later on due to a revelation in his dream, he carried on the idol of Mata Tripurasundari which is made up of Kasti stone from Chittagong of Bangladesh and installed it in the temple. It is considered to be one of the 51 Shakti Peethas. According to Hindu Mythology, Peethasthans are those places where the body parts of Devi Sati fall have fallen. As per “Pithamala Grantha”, Sati’s right foot falls here during Lord Siva’s “Tandava” Dance. All these informations are gathered from the manuscripts of the Temple. But these manuscripts have got destroyed during the course of time.

The temple is known to be the congregation of people from different religions and culture. The unique feature of the temple is that people from any religion can offer Puja to Sri Sri Mata Tripura Sundari. During the middle of the 18th century, Samser Gazi has attacked and captured Udaipur. In ‘Gazinama’, the Briography of Samser Gazi, it is referred that Gazi himself had offered puja to Devi Tripura Sundari. The Temple management Committee also comprises of people from various religion, culture and portfolios.

It is a custom that even the Muslims of Udaipur offer their first crops and milk to Devi Tripura Sundari. Devi Tripura Sundari is popular among the Tribal Communities of Tripura

Mata Tripurasundari Temple

Back To Top